top of page

Review: The Vault (M. Khamil)


This was one of those books that has a good idea behind it, but falls a tad short on the execution. It's a very, very short story (my copy was 27 pages, including title pages and author bio) which probably contributed a bit to this because there wasn't a ton of room for development, but it just fell a bit short for me.

The story opens with 3 people attempting to rob a bank, utilizing all of their special skills and talents to do so undetected. But when one of them is betrayed and locked in the vault, will the whole operation come crumbling down?

I really liked the idea behind the story. I like mystery, I like crime, and I like betrayal. All of these were in the story, and really appealed to me. But the story itself seemed a bit rushed (see 27 pages) and didn't flow. There was a lot more telling than showing, and there were quite a few grammatical errors (and some spelling ones as well) that made it more difficult to read.

I did want to find out what happened after the book ended, which is a point in its favor. But there just wasn't enough in the story, or enough fluidity in the writing, to make me extremely excited about it.

2/5 Stars

Disclaimer: I was contacted by the author and received an eBook copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This has in no way affected my review of, opinions on, or feelings towards this book.

bottom of page