top of page

Review: The Fallen City (J. Tanner)

As some of you may know, I’ve been reviewing the Arcane Kingdom Online series since the first book came out in October of last year and can I just say... the books just keep getting better. Clay’s journey has been so much fun to follow, but even more impressive than the content of the story is how Tanner has managed to create a world so captivating that after three books it has left me wanting more, sitting on the edge of my seat waiting to see what happens next. 

Clay may have managed to create a new home for himself within the game, with a network of friends and allies, but that doesn’t mean that the battle is over just yet. The corruption within the game runs far deeper than Clay could have ever imagined, and it’s up to him and his team to chase out the plague once and for all. But time is running out, and there are no second chances. The question is: will everyone survive?

One of the things I love about this series is the fact that I can pick up the next book without having read the pervious one(s) in months, at yet still remember exactly what is happening And where the story last left off. This is extremely rare for me because of how many books I read (and also that my memory is trash), and really highlights just how intriguing the plot is. I am also still a huge fan of the gameplay aspect as well at the stats that Tanner occasionally sprinkled throughout the pages. Some of the fight scenes in this novel left me flabbergasted, as the creativity behind them is just astounding. Every time that I think Tanner can’t get anymore creative I’m proven wrong, and honestly don’t mind at all.

The only “complaint” that I have with this book is that the scenes between action scenes are still not as detailed or long as I would have liked, and as a result it felt like the book was always rushing from fight to fight. Other than that, I really don’t have anything that especially bothered me!

I honestly cannot wait for book 4 to come out, and am so excited to see where Clay’s journey takes him next!

5/5 Stars

Disclaimer: I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review. This has in no way impacted my review of, opinion on, or feelings towards this book.


bottom of page