top of page

Review: The Woman in Cabin 10 (R. Ware)


Title: The Woman in Cabin 10

Author: Ruth Ware

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Series: N/A

Why?: Read The Lying Game & figured why not try this one

Once again, I am departing from my usual genre. Although I do venture into the mystery section of the library once and a while, it's definitely not a frequent occurrence since I would much rather that the mystery be set on another planet than on Earth (nothing against Earth, it's just more interesting when it's in other places). I read The Lying Game recently and thought it was quite interesting, even though it wasn't necessarily my normal cup of tea. So I figured why not try this one as well?

It's honestly really hard for me to write about how I feel about this book, because my feelings are all in knots. This book is so twisty-turny, every time that you think you have something figured out you then realize that you know nothing at all. Like at all. This book was mostly written as the events were happening, but then you had some newspaper articles from the future thrown in there to confuse you even more.

If you really like a confusing mystery, this book is for you. By the time you reach the ending, you have absolutely no idea how Ware managed to pull all that off. I'm not normally a huge fan of the mystery genre because the endings are all so predictable, but Ware manages to make it so that you had no idea what was going on the entire time and are completely shocked when the big reveal is made.

I may have to start reading more mystery.

bottom of page